The Dark Mod Forums

essential beginner missions?

barkjon

hey guys! i'm pretty new to The Dark Mod. i started playing a few weeks back, having completed Tears of St Lucia and Return To The City and currently playing through In The North. I was wondering what would be some great missions for a beginner to start with to get a good hang of the game?

thanks!

"Beleaguered Fence, The", my fav Sotha mission, has interesting mechanics but is challenging.

You've already done some tough ones, so "Flakebridge Monastery", another fav of mine, won't be too hard.

"Score to Settle, A", by Springheel is pretty straight-forward, not as hard as In the North, nor as long as Flakebridge.

There's another nice one not coming to mind right now...

"The measure of a man's character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out."

- Baron Thomas Babington Macauley

Play "No Honor Among Thieves," it's really well done and has three missions in one download. I started with the largest and most well praised missions, and then worked my way onto the less popular and smaller ones, but they all have some kind of charm to them.

For essential beginner, I'd recommend tutorial + blackjack tutorial. Skipping those is asking for problems, once you have a hang of the basic gameplay, it's really all up in the air.

I think my personal favorite is "Requiem." It's extremely lengthy, great story and play mechanics, and also is a very dark/horror style which is some of my favorite type of play.

Others I'd recommend.....even if not for "beginners" so to say.....

WS2-Home Again

WS3-Cleighmoor

Business As Usual

Fiasco at Fauchard St

Penny Dreadful: Grail Of Regrets

Somehwere Above the City

The Builders Roads

The Phrase Book

Lich Queen's Demise

Not an Ordinary Guest is excellent. Kinda-sorta the Lord Bafford's Manor of The Dark Mod, except with three different ways to play it.