The Dark Mod Forums

A Steam Punk Action RPG

Tornby

Hi Guys,

i am having a question about game assets and textures. i am planing a new computer game and would like to use some stuff from the dark mod. First of all, this would be a complete FREE game. Wihtout ads, without ingameshop, without early access or other stuff. NO COMMERCE.

I love the dark mod, not playing the missions especially, its the style. I listen hours to the small nocturne theme, its wonderful to dive into this world.

The game i want to develop is a mix of Might and Magic 6 (or Might and Magic X Legacy) and Thief. The scenario is like in thief a city in steam punk style, where 4 peoples have to solve riddles (murderer or theft or smth), fight and explore dungeons.

Ok, i am just a programmer. I am just one man who would develop in his spare time. I have over fifteen years programming experience and developed several projects. I released my own computer game a few years ago. It was developed in c++ and c# and sinks into that swamp of games. At this time social games where cool, now apps are cool. But i am not that kind of gamer. I loved burntime on the amiga, i loved waxworks, i love all these classic games. I do not wan't to give my next project to the app store or app swamp and then pray that somebody will find this game... People found the dark mod because there had a passion in playing stealth games like thief 1+2 (in my case, only 1+2) and not while hanging around and waiting for the next addictive app with trivial gameplay from the appstore. I just want to create an impression of that Thief world, but i think RPG Style round based fights are match perfectly.