Problems I had with TDM Installation on Linux w/ Solutions

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 bedhead

bedhead

• PipPip
  • 57 posts

Posted 29 October 2014 - 12:20 AM

This might be obvious to some people, but I'm still a noob and my TDM behavior was annoying me.

Running LInux Mint 17 and following the wiki to install TDM yields a few errors

after you enter "chmod +x tdm_update.linux" in terminal
you can install tdm with "sudo ./tdm_update.linux (not mentioned in wiki but might be something new users don't know)

here's the part that threw me off.
The training mission + Saint Lucia was invisible after the download was completed
TDM was also having some weird behaviors with some missions not installing causing CTD

The solution I found was that the permissions in the files + subfolders of main darkmod folder was not the same
Some items was under root privileges meaning you can't erase/modify it without being a superuser

After modifying all the user/group/permissions TDM was happy again.

Hope this helps someone.
  • WelchBack likes this

#2 OrbWeaver

OrbWeaver

Mod hero

• Active Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7527 posts

Posted 29 October 2014 - 12:09 PM

you can install tdm with "sudo ./tdm_update.linux (not mentioned in wiki but might be something new users don't know)

The solution I found was that the permissions in the files + subfolders of main darkmod folder was not the same
Some items was under root privileges meaning you can't erase/modify it without being a superuser

Not surprising, since you ran the updater with sudo. This should not be necessary. The updater only downloads content into its own directory, so you can easily install it as your normal user just by putting the updater into $HOME/darkmod and running it from there.

#3 bedhead

bedhead

• PipPip
  • 57 posts

Posted 29 October 2014 - 02:31 PM

Thanks i didnt know that. I guess it became a habit for me for x

#4 freyk

freyk

Advanced Member

• PipPipPip