14 replies to this topic

#1 Paralytik

Paralytik

• PipPip
  • 137 posts

Posted 08 January 2015 - 10:29 PM

POPULAR

Helloes. 

My plan is to, with the help of you guys, compile a list over what needs doing on the audio side and then try to get these things done.
I've been working with audio as a hobbyist for many years, I play a few instruments sufficiently well to be able to compose things and I have some in-depth knowledge in production techniques, audio synthesis, live recording, music theory and acoustics. With that said, I'm far from a master; I learn and read up on new things all the time to broaden my knowledge even further. I primarily work in Propellerheads Reason for music production and audio creation.

So far I've seen a few topics here being discussed.

• Ice footstep sounds.
    (Might be possible to modify the stone sounds to achieve this, otherwise I'll have to get out with one of my harddisc recorders and figure something out).

• City ambient sounds. Carts rolling, animals howling, muffled talk, distant oneshots; anything to try to make the cityscapes come alive.

• Strained metal sounds. (Should be quite easy with a ring modulator and some basic waveforms in pretty much any synth where you can sculpt sound from scratch).

• + Chest opening/closing sounds are inconsistent.
  • + New dropped candlestick holder sound, old one sounds tinny.
  • + Lockpicking sounds.
  • + Inconsistent jumping/landing sounds.

Also being mentioned in another thread is the lack of ambient music, and general indoors ambient. What I'm thinking here is basically composing and production work, possibly based on what is already in the mod (the indoor piano loops, etc) to fit well together with what is already available. Focus will be spent on adequate lengths and bearable repetitiveness, along with different levels of tension for the pieces. 

Areas that I have thought of so far, including things being mentioned in other threads, are the following: