The Dark Mod Forums

New to The Dark Mod. Some issues. Awesome mod!

Wenex

Hello!

I'm pretty new to The Dark Mod. Been playing Thief 2 FMs like 3-4 years ago and after I tried TDM few days ago I fell in love with the series again :D

So far I finished Requiem, entire Talbot series, William Steele 1 and few others. I quite enjoyed the new game mechanics. Especially the movement. It feels like you can climb on anything you want! Which in some FMs comes in handy. While so far it's been great experience I have encountered some issues/annoyances. I would appreciate any help or answers on those things.

1. First and the biggest so far. I seem to stutter/drop fps in the locations with a lot of lightning. I can feel though that it isn't an ordinary frame drop, but something to do with the game engine or lighting settings. Like it's incompatible or something. It's kind of odd for a such old engine to run that bad on the nowadays gaming machines.

A very first example when I encountered the stutter was when you enter the "Stealth and Shadows" doors in tutorial mission. After you enter, you end up in a small open space with two lanterns and another doors leading to a guy who sits on chair and you are supposed to sneak past. In this area I dropped from 60 to 40 frames and sttutering was noticeable. Second example, at the end of Requiem where you solve the last puzzle. This room made my game stutter as well. I was wondering if this is some known issue with fix, or if I am forced to deal with it.

I have already take any advices from the "performance" wiki. I added all the commands to darkmod config that were listed there. And I lowered all graphic settings I possibly could. The stutter still existed.