Jump to content


Photo

No sound on Ubuntu 16.04

sound ubuntu linux

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Asmoda

Asmoda

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 25 December 2016 - 02:21 PM

Hi :)

I've recently installed Dark Mod (downloaded tdm_update.linux, made it executable and ran it). Unfortunately, when I run the game, I get no sound. I tried several things, but none of them worked. I tried:

  • running pasuspender ./thedarkmod.x86
  • running ./thedarkmod.x86 +set s_alsa_pcm sysdefault:CARD=PCH after checking if there is a seta s_driver "best" line in Darkmod.cfg
  • running pasuspender ./thedarkmod.x86 +set s_alsa_pcm sysdefault:CARD=PCH
  • changing seta s_alsa_pcm "surround51:CARD=PCH,DEV=0" to NVidia and DEV=0, 1 and 3., also to default and surround51 and stereo
  • changed seta s_driver to "oss" and ran with aoss ./thedarkmod.x86
  • setting seta s_driver to "best" and seta s_alsa_pcm to "default" and running "export PULSE_LATENCY_MSEC=60;./thedarkmod.x86
  • setting seta s_driver to "alsa" and seta s_alsa_pcm to "sysdefault" or "front:CARD=PCH,DEV=0" or "front:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3" or "stereo:CARD=..." and "surround51:..." running ./thedarkmod.x86 or aoss ./thedarkmod.x86

 



#2 freyk

freyk

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 358 posts

Posted 25 December 2016 - 06:17 PM

Which soundcard do you have?

#3 Asmoda

Asmoda

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 25 December 2016 - 07:08 PM

I don't think I have a soundcard. How can I check it?


Edited by Asmoda, 25 December 2016 - 07:12 PM.


#4 freyk

freyk

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 358 posts

Posted 25 December 2016 - 11:13 PM

http://www.linuxnix....s-in-linuxunix/

#5 Asmoda

Asmoda

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 26 December 2016 - 06:43 AM

"cat /proc/asound/cards" returns

 0 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                      HDA Intel PCH at 0xf7220000 irq 126
 1 [NVidia         ]: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
                      HDA NVidia at 0xf7080000 irq 17


#6 freyk

freyk

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 358 posts

Posted 26 December 2016 - 07:30 AM

Whats your tdm-log output, using a clean darkmod.cfg?

open a terminal, navigate to your tdm-folder.
rename darkmod.cfg to darkmod.cfg.ori.
run the following command and copy the content of the generated logmysound.txt in a spoiler.
./thedarkmod.x86 +set developer 1 +set logfile 1 +condump logmysound.txt +quit

Edited by freyk, 26 December 2016 - 07:39 AM.


#7 Asmoda

Asmoda

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 26 December 2016 - 08:40 AM

(the screen went black for a few seconds and Dark Mod didn't actually started, just saying, because I don't know if that was supposed to happen)

 

logmysound.txt: http://pastebin.com/XCDPQUxa

 

Spoiler


Edited by Asmoda, 26 December 2016 - 08:40 AM.


#8 Asmoda

Asmoda

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 26 December 2016 - 09:49 AM

Yay, I don't know why, but now it works. Here's a diff between my old .cfg and the one automatically created - http://pastebin.com/DUidmPRa. I don't know how it is different from the default darkmod.cfg (I suppose the number of speakers was initially set to 6 and when it recreated the .cfg file, it changed it to 2?), but it works. Thanks a lot :)


  • nbohr1more likes this

#9 freyk

freyk

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 358 posts

Posted 26 December 2016 - 12:03 PM

You need to use the alsa method and sollutions.
Because your tdm-initlog says:
dlopen(libasound.so.2)
asoundlib version: 1.1.0
Alsa is available
------ Alsa Sound Initialization -----
opened Alsa PCM device default for playback
device buffer size: 5461 frames ( 21844 bytes )
allocated a mix buffer of 16384 bytes


#10 deviLz4demon

deviLz4demon

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 29 December 2016 - 06:08 AM

snd_pcm_writei 4096 frames failed: Broken pipe
preparing audio device for output
snd_pcm_writei() reports broken pipe (underrun) while sending 4096 frames. Retrying but also sending 1024 duplicate frames first. Try increasing 's_alsa_underrun_extrafill' if this persists.
 

 

Thats my error, sorry for posting it here. I keep hearing noise in the background and it does not sit well with the game. Can you please provide a step by step solution on how to fix this as it seems to happen only on TDM ?

 

Had no idea where to hunt for the s_alsa_underrun_extrafill, but found it in the Darkmod.cfg. Change its value from 1024 to 4096 and the game works properly. I am a doofus to not have tried this method earlier.

 


Edited by deviLz4demon, 29 December 2016 - 06:28 AM.

 

20.jpg

 
 
 
 
 





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: sound, ubuntu, linux

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users