The Dark Mod Forums

Compiling with Visual Studio 2017

drtowerstein

Hi,

I'm trying to compile the game DLL with the latest Visual Studio and I'm running into a couple of problems. There are some syntax issues in idLib, but they seem easy to solve. There are also some file details that need a fix.

So, before I get knee deep into the code, us there any guide or advice for VS above 2013?

Thanks a lot, and regards,

Javier

AFIAK you have to compile it with VS 2013. The free community edition will suffice. I am no expert on this field, though. Why do you want to use VS 2017?

FM's: Builder Roads, Old Habits, Old Habits Rebuild

Mapping and Scripting: Apples and Peaches

Sculptris Models and Tutorials: Obsttortes Models

My wiki articles: Obstipedia

Texture Blending in DR: DR ASE Blend Exporter

AFIAK you have to compile it with VS 2013. The free community edition will suffice. I am no expert on this field, though. Why do you want to use VS 2017?

I want to switch to 2017 as well. You can't even download 2013 from MS easily any more. And people who actually need to use latest VS for work could use some disk space that the 2013 dinasaur takes up.

I'm trying to compile the game DLL with the latest Visual Studio and I'm running into a couple of problems. There are some syntax issues in idLib, but they seem easy to solve. There are also some file details that need a fix.

So, before I get knee deep into the code, us there any guide or advice for VS above 2013?

Please use the trunk version and send me a diff. I will apply it.

2.05 is less preferential but it might be ok too.

I want to switch to 2017 as well. You can't even download 2013 from MS easily any more. And people who actually need to use latest VS for work could use some disk space that the 2013 dinasaur takes up.

Please use the trunk version and send me a diff. I will apply it.

2.05 is less preferential but it might be ok too.