The Dark Mod Forums

Desaturated light shader

Durandall

Is it possible to create a greyscale light shader or do we already have one?

It would make for a great moonlight effect.

I tried messing around with the shaders to average the colors, but I have no experience with shaders and everything I try leads to no effect or a shader error.

Also, how might one go about altering the hue of an existing texture?

I tried this as well, but the results are a mess. I don't know if I need to alter it's shader or something.

We only have one good set of manor wood texture and it's that same orange.

Some color modification would give some nice variety.

You can tint a diffuse texture inside the material file with the "rgb" keyword -- several of our textures use this method, like the darkbrown wood panels. It's, of course, limited by the original color of the diffuse, so your mileage will vary.

As for a shader, do you mean a type of light that desaturates the colors it shines on? That sounds pretty interesting, but I don't know if it would simulate moonlight that well. Perhaps something like a filter light might do it... but as far as shaders go, not sure anyone would be up for making one from scratch for this sort of thing.

My FMs: The King of Diamonds (2016) | Visit my Mapbook thread sometimes! | Read my tutorial on Image-Based Lighting Workflows for TDM!

The makeIntensity keyword can turn any uncompressed image to greyscale.

https://www.iddevnet.com/doom3/materials.php

You can then add a color image and use the RGB keyword to reduce the influence of the color stage in the shader

Example:

lights/desaturated_test
{

lightFalloffImage _noFalloff // by default, stay bright almost all the way to the end

{
                map makeIntensity(lights/example_color_tex)
                colored
                zeroClamp
                rgb 0.7
        }

{
               map lights/example_color_tex
               colored
               zeroClamp
               rgb 0.3