The Dark Mod Forums

Some Questions About Darkradiant

Bukary

Because T3Ed limitations (especially properties limit) will not allow me to build what I want, I started learning Radiant today. If I find this editor bearable (and that means: if I learn how to use it), I'll probably apply for Dark Mod beta mapper (if you need one more). I am familiar with DromEd and T3Ed, but I've never used Radiant or any other editor based on subtractive geometry. Examples of my work can be found in various places over the Net. I've build Old Comrades, Old Debts FM (Komag's contest 3 winner) and released Mistrz FX demo. Screenshots from my finished and unfinished projects are here.

I started this thread, because I'll probably have lots of questions regarding Radiant (DarkRadiant). I try not to ask for basic explanations (eg. how to create fog in Radiant?). I hope I'll find answers for such basic how-to questions in various tutorials. But I also hope that you won't mind me asking some questions here. First of all I'll try to figure out what is and what is not possible in this editor. I hope you'll find some time to give me short answers: yes or no (or point me in the right direction).

After starting Radiant for the first time, familiarizing myself with viewports (I don't find them "intuitive" at this moment) and reading some basic (your-first-room) tutorials, I already have some questions. :)

1) Can I change skins on meshes? Let's say there is one model (building) with few skins (roof, walls etc.). Can I change particular skins (eg. roof) only or am I forced to change the whole skin?

2) Can I have three viewports (top, left, right) on screen at the same time?

3) Is city mission like "Midnight in Murkbell" (huge area, lots of buildings, long views) possible in Radiant?