The Dark Mod Forums

I can help too. I hope

tech

Just you to know if you need some of my skills:

I'm a student, fascinated by low-level programming: I had a little OS'dev project, but it got frozen cause I was alone, writing it in asm, had no much time. Now I do some researches about information security. To my regret I haven't started yet learning driver coding, but I'll do my best. If you need some low-level implementation, I'm here.

I know asm (fasm syntax). Also I know C/C++, but I used them long time ago, cause my favourite language is asm.

Hey there.

I'm not sure we have much use for hardcode assembler coding in the mod. The only place where assembler is used in signficant amounts is in the SIMD class hierarchy (you might want to check up with MoroseTroll about the status of that one).

Help with programming in C++ is always welcome, but beware that I've grown very hesitant to have new folks signed up and to lead them by the hand. I've done it dozens of times and I just don't have the time for that anymore. If you are willing to help, prove it to yourself that you are able to handle the TDM codebase, by picking one of the issues on the bugtracker, diving into the code and trying to fix it. Asking questions is always ok, of course, but don't expect anybody to do your "homework" (= reading the code, trying to find a solution that is not hopefully not just a dirty hack).

I'm probably coming across more harshly than I actually am, but I've seen too many people sign up and disappear after little more than two weeks. I'm not intending to discourage you, just go ahead and test your skills on an actual problem on the tracker.

Generally, you don't need to be a team member or have access to SVN or the team forums. Everything you need to get started is freely availabe: the code, the bugtracker, the wiki including compilation guides in all three supported platforms. Just get cracking!