The Dark Mod Forums

Random Conversationalism

SneaksieDave

Not sure this is the right place to post this, so please move if it's not.

I recently started playing Gothic (and I'm loving it) and there is a sort of random conversation that goes on in between NPCs. It consists of generic barks they can say back and forth to each other that blend together for the most part. For example, walk past a couple of NPCs in conversation and they might say (I don't have it memorized - this is just to give an idea),

NPC 1 "Are you sure you want to do it that way?"

NPC 2 "Well, I don't know..."

NPC 1 "I told them it wasn't going to work, but no one listened."

NPC 2 "When you rely on people for things, this is what happens."

NPC 1 "I'm going to have to take care of this myself."

etc...

In Gothic, it's a bit simplistic, but with some creative design and a system of tags where only certain replies can be given to certain barks, this could really work well, in places where generic talk is desired rather than a scripted conversation. I'm pretty sure a lot of that goes on in Thief 3 already, e.g.,

"Look alive there, you vagabond."

"Yes, your lordship................................

. idiot."

"Evenin'."

"Who asked ya?" or "All's well!" or just "Evenin'."

Combining T3's concept with Gothic's, and making the responses actually *directed* could have fantastic results. I believe some brief talk about this has taken place, so do take a look at Gothic if you get a chance. I'm imagining something like:

Group A:

"So, what do you think?"

"What are you going to do about it, then?"

"What happened?"

"What?!"

can have responses from,

Group B:

"I don't know, it doesn't make much sense to me."

"Who knows? I wasn't there. Who cares, anyway."

"It's not good, I can tell you that much."

"I don't see it as important. They can easily find another way to do things."

which is followed by,

Group C:

(followups)

or,

Group D:

(sidetrackers)

or,

Group E:

(re-initiators)