The Dark Mod Forums

Wav Vs Ogg

Domarius

• 1 month later...

Bump!

I'd like to discuss this, because we need to be clear about it, if we want to make a technical guideline for file formats. If we're going to keep wavs for small files, we should at least be clear about the approximate filesize of sounds that use wav instead of ogg.

Ok, so in my opinion, we should stick with ogg. My reasoning is that both formats are streamed by the engine before they are processed (EAX), and the performance gain doesn't warrant the increasing mod size - I'm not an expert on OpenAL, but I can't really see it. Gildoran, if I'm terribly wrong, please correct me.

For footsteps, and minor impact sounds, it's definitely better to use wavs. When I converted the T2X footsteps to ogg, they were more glitchy for some reason and didn't always play as quickly as they should.

I think the general rule of thumb should be, oggs for ambient music and vocal sets...since they're usually longer. Wavs for SFX....as they are usually short snippets.

Hmm, so the problem is the access time. If oggs lag, that's a valid reason to use wav files for time critical, short sounds.

Question: If I convert any given wav to an ogg, and don't rename it save the file expansion, would I have to change anything in the editor? If not, the problem wouldn't be that big, since we could easily swap filetypes for any sound.

For footsteps, and minor impact sounds, it's definitely better to use wavs. When I converted the T2X footsteps to ogg, they were more glitchy for some reason and didn't always play as quickly as they should.

Are you sure they were precached properly? It should precache it if you use "snd_*" for the name in the key-value pair, but if you had some arbitrary name it might not have precached them and had to load them the first time.