The Dark Mod Forums

Yandros for C++ coding.

New Horizon

I received an email from Yandros, who is interested in looking into our remaining tasks in coding. We could either offer DR coding, so we could free up our existing DR coders to spend more time on the AI....or perhaps Yandros would like to work directly on the main mod and do AI coding? :)

I'll let Yandros discuss this with the rest of you coders though.

Yes.

I have seven years' experience as a software engineer, although the last 18 months I've been writing requirements and not code, plus before that I was a team lead for several years, and in that role didn't do as much coding as I had when I was a grunt. But I should be able to work in any well-documented C++ system given some time to study it. I would prefer not to work on code that interacts with DX, GDI or anything related to graphics or rendering (aside from standard Windows GUI elements like dialogs) as I have no background in that. My degrees are actually in Math and Secondary Ed; I had a few entry-level CS courses, but am mostly self-taught over many years of being interested in programming, starting with TRS-80 and Applesoft Basic many years ago. Naturally, when I entered the field, I learned much, much more on the job than I had ever taught myself.

When I was actively programming, the code I owned was middleware - windowless apps which called into different DLLs for both low-level function and to display GUI. I have more background in C than C++, but I did lead a complete redesign of one of the systems to migrate from C to C++, and have also done some other OOP projects on the side. I have a basic knowledge of HTML, CSS and XML.