The Dark Mod Forums

Needed for Standalone: Animated Zombie

Springheel

This is my first attempt at a specific brief describing what we need to replace our existing zombie.

If you are interested in helping with some or all of these tasks, please contact me. If you know of someone who might be willing to help out, feel free to repost this.

We now have a weighted mesh replacement thanks to greebo. We still need animations for the zombie character (using the existing humanoid animations would not be very satisfactory).

This zombie is meant to replace the existing one which uses Doom3 assets. In order to stay consistent with existing missions, the replacement zombie must look relatively similar to the D3 one--that means a naked, emaciated corpse with dead eyeballs and a gaping mouth.

zombie_ref1.jpg1281692463KB56AM.jpg

Mesh: The number of polys is one place where we don't have to mimick the original. The visible zombie mesh should be between 3000 and 6000 polys, with a simplified shadowmesh that makes up approximately 25% of the overall number of polys. For example, a 4500 poly mesh with a 1200 poly shadowmesh would be ideal.

Although the D3 zombie had "mitten hands" the replacement zombie should have fully articulated fingers.

The zombie mesh will have a separated head that is rigged to a different skeleton; the engine attaches them at run time. It is important to make the seam as inobtrusive as possible--either at the bottom of the neck in the clavicle area (preferred), or at the top of the neck under the jawline.

Adding scraps of old clothing as a separate submesh (which can be set invisible for variety) would be nice but not necessary.

The zombie skin will be weighted to the same skeleton we use for our other humanoid characters. The joint names must remain the same. Contact Springheel about the skeleton for the body and head.

The final mesh needs to be in md5mesh format.