The Dark Mod Forums

Headphone Jack, thou art mine enemy!

lost_soul

I just spent over twenty minutes trying to make my laptop's sound system behave correctly. Some time ago, some random guy decided it would be a good idea to have the toggle between headphones and internal speakers in modern machines controlled via software instead of hardware. As you would guess, this leads to yet more problems. When I connect a pair of headphones, the internal speakers would keep playing. This is obviously undesirable if I'm in a public place. I tried every single audio control but whatever I turned down, it would turn down the headphones too.

I'm not an engineer, but I know how these jacks used to work. There was a tiny switch inside the jack that would physically disable the internal speakers on a device when headphones were connected. It used to be plain and simple. After all, why would you want to listen to tiny internal speakers if you've got nice headphones connected?

I got it working, but in closing I would like to say this. Do not make things more complex than they need to be. It frequently only causes more problems. This last line applies to the guys who think all sound mixing and routing should be taken care of in software.

--- War does not decide who is right, war decides who is left.

I deal with fixing things like this all too often, cos I'm one of those handy people. It's amazing how if you explain how badly these 'fancy' systems are designed (post problem, when they kinda care), they're always quite amazed since they can even understand how dumb they are.