The Dark Mod Forums

Maya to md5

Lascha

Hello everyone,

I am a student and just started on a project in which we will use md5 models in a raytracer. Here's what I'm talking about:

fatty.th.png

The ray tracer (in c++) has no problems importing an md5 models (eg. the ones from doom3). The problem is converting maya (2009 and 2010) models to md5 models. Since you probably already dealt with issues concerning this, I think someone would be able to help.

I am using "MayaImportx86.dll" (2010 version) with "doom3.exe". First I would get the error about maya not in registry, which was fixed by setting the environment variables. Then I got an error about MayaImport dll not being able to load, which was fixed by a typo in the environment path variable. Trying to export models after fixing these errors leaves me with a complete new behaviour: doom3 waits ~1 sec and exits. No errors are printed in the console. Nothing got exported.

Here is what I have:

I have maya 2010 installed in:

C:\Program Files\Autodesk\maya2010\

Environmental variables are set:

Path C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Maya2010\bin;

MAYA_LOCATION C:\Program Files\Autodesk\maya2010;

Doom 3 and its .exe is in:

C:\Doom3\

This directory also contains:

MayaImportx86.dll (The one for Maya2010)

The .def file is in:

C:\Doom3\base\def

Here is my .def file, named "character.def":

export character
{
options -sourcedir models/mymodels/character -destdir models/md5/mymodels/character

mesh character.mb -dest character.md5mesh
anim idle.mb -dest idle.md5anim
}

The source directory is in:

C:\Doom3\base\models\mymodels\character

This folder contains:

character.mb

idle.mb

The destination directory is in:

C:\Doom3\base\models\md5\mymodels\character

So now I run the game and press ctrl+alt+` to bring up the console.

I enter the command: exportModels character.def

(I also tried the command 'fs_game' first, as suggested somewhere on the internet.)