The Dark Mod Forums

Nyarlathotep's Application Thread

New Horizon

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Before the interviewing process begins, perhaps it is best for people to get some small idea of me...

My only experience in coding is in Java and Python (unless you are willing to count fucking around with StarLogo). I don't have much that I would consider to be in a presentable format right now, unfortunately (most of what I have are school projects--not very interesting).

As for my willingness to learn, I am a college student (CS major). If I am unwilling or can't learn, then I belong neither here nor at my (rather prestigious) school. Being a second-year, I don't have much experience; in fact, I'm applying to get more experience.

I have 2 cats, enjoy romantic dinners for two and long walks down the beach.

Looking for (TDM) love,

Nyarlathotep

Sounds promising. The Doom3 SDK is available for download, and is written in C++. Doom3 scripting is somewhat like C++, but with some features missing (like structs). So if you're comfortable with that, you might want to find some way to learn C++ and download the Doom3 SDK version 1.3 just to take a look at what it's all about. A lot of the SDK is poorly documented, so it can get frustrating at times.

I am generally much more confident of Java/Python -> C++ programmers than ASM/C -> C++ programmers. The former are more likely to understand modern design idioms rather than being obsessed with bitbashing and performance (refusing to use strings, vectors etc. because they are "too slow" and other rubbish).

Is it really worth getting applicants to download the plain SDK? I'm not sure it's all that useful. It wasn't for me.

It would be nice to see some sample code, but if you don't have any I guess there's not a lot to be done about that. :)