The Dark Mod Forums

An elevator lever

Springheel

Here's another question about something I'm not sure how to do.

I'm setting up an elevator, and I was trying to think of other configurations than pushing buttons to send the elevator from one floor to the next. What I'd really like is a steam-punk style lever, sort of like the image below (not necessarily that large), where the player moves a lever to the number of the floor he wants to go to.

I'm not sure exactly how to do that (if it's possible at all) however. The player can't (I don't think) literally frob and 'pull' the lever to the number they want. Having it move forward each time it is frobbed would be too awkward to control.

I thought about trying an invisible button over top of each number, but then would there be a way to get the lever to move to that spot?

I've never done even a regular elevator before, so I'm a bit out of my depth. Anyone know whether something like this is even doable? Any option would have to be usable by AI as well.

post-9-0-58692300-1357675051.jpg

One issue you'll have is when the lever is at "3" and you frob it. How does it know to go to "2" or "4"? We'd have to give the player the ability to "grab" the lever, and--while hanging onto it--move it in the correct direction. Sounds like a combination of lever code and grabber code. When the player lets go, the lever would move to the closest "slot" and then probably some script would know what happened and make the elevator go to the right floor.

Yes, I didn't think that would probably be easy to do, if it would work at all. What about putting a button on the "2", and when the player frobs it, the lever moves to the "2" position (and the elevator goes to the second floor). Is that possible? It's still basically pushing a button, but the aesthetic would look like the player was moving the lever to select the floor.

Yep, getting that to work would require amnesia like "frob and move mouse to interact" kind of functionality.