The Dark Mod Forums

external HDD not shown

SeriousToni

I've had issues with my computer not recognizing my external HDD before, or a message like "Press OK to Format this Drive", but to fix it I just had to unplug it and re-plug it back in, and it'd work as normal again. Your issue sounds more serious than that.

I don't know. If it's a hardware issue, AFAIK that sounds like the kind of thing where you go to a hardware shop to physically pull your data off and copy them over to a new drive, and now it's a paperweight. Or maybe they can re-format it themselves so it's at least useable. But hopefully I'm wrong about that and somebody else has good advice for you to get it working again. I have no experience with this, so please don't take my word for anything.

What do you see when you turn out the light? I can't tell you but I know that it's mine.

Certainly bad sign if you can't access the drive with any way. It is probably dead. Some programs might be able to see HDD SMART data, which would tell what aspect of the drive failed.

There are data extracting services which can grab data from a dead drive, but their prices are usually exorbitant.

Learn and start making regular backups! Regular SMART data monitoring could give away the approaching end of the drive, but dropping or otherwise mauling the drive can still insta-kill your drive. Backups, backups, backups.

Clipper

-The mapper's best friend.

I have most data on another drive but it's not all recently updated. So no BIG lost at least (if it really can't be saved). But also the hdd doesn't work (I can't format it) :(

Do you have a software tip (even if it's not freeware)?

"Einen giftigen Trank aus Kräutern und Wurzeln für die närrischen Städter wollen wir brauen." - Text aus einem verlassenen Heidenlager

Linux distros should have a command "smartctl."

It comes with smartmontools package

"mount" command lets you know the drive names. hda or sda or something

Then "sudo smartctl --all /dev/sda"