The Dark Mod Forums

Spider Concept

oDDity

Here's it animated. THis gif is quite big though, but I think we're all on DSL anyway. I have to make these super fast to play at a decent speed in opera or IE, so firefox users will see it too fast.

Animation5.gif

Civillisation will not attain perfection until the last stone, from the last church, falls on the last priest.

- Emil Zola

character models site

1 and 4 don't show the spider walking forwards normally though, which is what they're doing in the game. I didn't say they never bend their knees, just not in a normal walk.

2 is pay per view and 3 won't download.

Thoese pair of tits were great though. I especially liked the one on the right, it seemed more pert than the other one.

Civillisation will not attain perfection until the last stone, from the last church, falls on the last priest.

- Emil Zola

character models site

I've never even animated a non bipedal character so I'm no expert but the walk cycle looks a bit odd to me. The head section looks totally stiff like it's moving forward by itself unaffacted by the legs. If you took out the ground beneath him it would look like it could be a flying spider animation as well heh. I think it's because there's no real weight bearing poses maybe? But I'm not sure how that'd work really since spiders dont have much weight and are really strong as well. But also, the two front legs look like they're mostly just sliding outward to the side.

Like I said though, I don't know much about animating character with more than 2 legs, and I am certainly no expert on spider walks so I could be wrong about this all. Damn thinking about it now, animating something with 8 legs must be hard as hell.

I think I remember liking the spider from lotr, but I have a horrible memory. Maybe a good idea to check it out though.