The Dark Mod Forums

chest opening and closing sounds

grodenglaive

It always makes me edgy when I pilfer from a chest - I think a guard has just entered the room as the sounds of the chest opening and closing are the same as the door. Anyway, I have some good mics and recording software so I thought I'd try to make something different. I think it sounds like an old creaky wooden chest now. Is this something you could use?

I have two different opening and two different closing sounds. Let me know if you need them louder, softer or with less reverb, etc. or if you just plain hate them. It's my first attempt at sound effects, so I don't have any expectations. :smile:

Here are the mp3 (the wav files were too large to let me post here). I could provide other formats if required by email or dropbox.

[updated with cleaner sound]

chest opening1-1.mp3chest opening2-1.mp3chest closing1-1.mp3chest closing 2-1.mp3

Edited by grodenglaive
  • Like 1

I agree completely, the sound of chests opening always makes me check all the doors in the room.

Your replacements sound good. They're a bit muffled, but that might be down to my desktop settings. It might be an idea to provide links to the sounds that you think should be replaced, so forum users can compare them side-by-side.

I agree also. I try to change all the chests in my maps to existing TDM sounds that aren't in the collection of the normal door sounds.

The prefabs should have their sounds changed, since most people drop the prefabs into their maps and move on.

Your sounds sound fine, but I'll defer to the sound crew's opinion.

The prefabs should have their sounds changed, since most people drop the prefabs into their maps and move

This was something I intended to do, but can't remember if I did.

+1 to the prefabs having their sounds changed. Many mappers are using new sounds for both chests and doors and they do sound much better. It would be nice if they were the default.

+1 to what Biker said as well.