3 replies to this topic

#1 Judith

Judith

Advanced Member

• PipPipPip
  • 516 posts

Posted 16 July 2017 - 06:07 AM

POPULAR

Lately, I was fiddling with TDM frob shader, because often I find it too subtle for my taste. Don’t get me wrong, it works as intended, but it looks best in complete darkness. In more lit rooms, e.g. while putting out candles, it’s a bit hard to see whether you’re able to interact with an object or not. Modern games use Fresnel-based shader to achieve this, so an object gets a bright outline. This is very in-your-face and something more like the “atomic-blue frob” from Thief Deadly Shadows we all hated back in the day. That said, I think you can achieve some middle ground here.

I couldn’t get the proper fresnel program to work, since I’m not that good at shaders, but I don’t think I will need it. Instead, I created a “fake Fresnel” cubemap, which looks like this:

fres_back.png

You can easily make it in Gimp. It’s a 256 texture with radial gradient from black to white, and offset of 50, so the color transition starts further away from the center. If you just want an outline, use pure black as starting color. I wanted both some highlight and an outline, so I used RGB 32. Now you have to save it 6 times with _back, _down, _forward etc., so it gets recognized as a cubemap.

Then you have to go to your material definition and put this instead of standard frob code:

// This is the code required for frob highlighting this texture
{
  if ( parm11 > 0 )
  maskcolor
  map makealpha (_white)
  alpha .2  // modify it as you wish
}
{
        if ( parm11 > 0 )
  blend gl_dst_alpha, gl_one
  maskalpha
  cameraCubeMap cubemap/path/here
  texgen  reflect
}