The Dark Mod Forums

Fan Mission: Braeden Church (by grayman) (2018/7/1)

grayman

Great mission, thank you Grayman!

It's my first time playing on v2.06 and it felt like a big upgrade to me.

The atmosphere in this FM is fantastic, especially when you...

...discover the dead bodies of the acolytes etc. behind the church. Creepy.

I found all 3493 loot on my first playthrough without breaking a sweat. Everything was placed/hidden intuitively, which was great. It took me a minute to work out how to use the magic key, though :-)

Thank you for all of the hard work that went into this.

EDIT: In case anyone else has trouble figuring out how to use the magic key, you have to...

...hold it out in front of you by using the "drop item" button, then make it touch the magic door.

Edited by Kerry000
  • Like 3

Enjoyable out of 10.

Observations:

This is the third fan mission I've played where an opposing faction appears en masse at some point. Unlike those other two (which were Thief 2), you hinted at the conflict before hand and so I enjoyed seeing how long I would hold out till I started blackjacking. Thankfully, I found the special key before my patience ran out. I also had the issue of how to use it :) I encountered 4 revenants and 2 humans still alive when I toured the place again post-catacombs.

Any reason why you only let us see one revenant walk out and not all of them? I see you spawn more ahead, but I think it would have been cool for him to have become a vanguard. He notices the door opened, turns around, barks, you hear all of them reply in a deafening chorus and they all run out behind him.

I was expecting some sort of secret, readable or other reference to the tunnel being in close proximity to the wall bellow (where we entered in WS1). Maybe a builder musing on a secret escape or someone hearing noises.

@SuaveSteve: