Jump to content
The Dark Mod Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Kurshok

Books like Elder Scrolls

Recommended Posts

So, as an idea, what about making random books for different missions featuring lore and history about the Dark Mod world scattered about the world, like in Oblivion and Skyrim?

Examples could include "Habits and Cultures of the Various Beastfolk", "History's Most Infamous Necromancers", "Menoa: The Rising Threat", and "The Horselords of the East"

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
34 minutes ago, Jedi_Wannabe said:

Lusty Argonian Maid were my favs.

you sly dog!

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Haha, polish the spear.

But for real, the only reason every character of mine in every ES game exceeds 500+hrs without beating the main quest is because i get distracted by the atmosphere and lore, the books being a big part of that. 

Oh and The Real Barenziah. I used to love collecting complete works and decorating my bookshelves in my homes, putting them all in order.

Edited by Jedi_Wannabe
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Reading books and notes in TDM feels really clunky to me. I found that system in TDS much more immersive.
I wish theyd fix that.

Or i will never read lore properly XD


Can we have more scary Zombie Horror maps?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Skyrim was pretty cool in that regard. Even though some of the books in the Elder Scrolls games were tiresomely long... some very cool stories in the books in Skyrim though, like the series about the thief.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Filizitas said:

Reading books and notes in TDM feels really clunky to me. I found that system in TDS much more immersive.
I wish theyd fix that.

 

 

What is it you think needs to be fixed?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/20/2020 at 9:48 AM, Filizitas said:

Reading books and notes in TDM feels really clunky to me. I found that system in TDS much more immersive.
I wish theyd fix that.

Or i will never read lore properly XD

The readable mechanics of TDM have repeatedly been praised as being VERY immersive, but I still wanted to see where you're coming from. Since I couldn't really remember how TDS handled readables, I checked a Let's Play of TDS and found this. Readables are displayed on a separate off-world GUI-screen. How is that more immersive? It completely takes you out of the present world. That's the opposite of immersion...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Because it sets up a theater for the readable. In TDM notes look completly... irrelevant. They are not inviting at all.
Thief DS makes you a comfy silent area with light and smart buttons, so you can enjoy the text in highest form.
The pages are 3d, they move around... Its more then just a 2D flat thingy, its a 3d object that moves.

I think both ideas are immersive but i find the arcady way of tds much smarter.
There is a serious issue with note reading, its boring.
Maybe not for you but i rarely have the patience.

Edited by Filizitas

Can we have more scary Zombie Horror maps?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
49 minutes ago, STiFU said:

How is that more immersive? It completely takes you out of the present world. That's the opposite of immersion...

I agree and I love the readables in TDM! Actually I love that the whole TDM theme including most UI elements fits the game. Not e.g. like in Dishonored...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Filizitas said:

Because it sets up a theater for the readable.

In TDM, it is the responsibility of mission authors to set up the theater for readables. And most of the time that is pretty well done. It can't get more immersive than reading things in the game world as if you would actually be there and hold it in your own hands.

Also, if your eyes are sharp enough, you can actually even read some of the readables without even frobbing them. For the common sheet of paper notes, the actual text is rendered right on that sheet in the game world. That is impossible to beat immersion-wise.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would say that the Thief/Skyrim way of doing is more amenable to reading long documents as the game is actually paused and you are safe to read at your preferred pace. On the other hand one of the great things about TDM readables is that there is quite often some tension involved as a guard could come bursting in to the room at any moment catching you with your spectacles on. I do feel like keeping the readables relatively brief in TDM is a good thing though, especially static ones. That's not to say that a well written book couldn't be enjoyable to read in TDM, provided it goes in to the inventory and there is a nice, safe place to read it. In front of a roaring fireplace or on a bench in the night with the sounds of the city as atmosphere.

  • Like 3

My Fan Missions:

   Series:                                                                           Standalone:

Chronicles of Skulduggery 1: Pearls and Swine                     The Night of Reluctant Benefaction

Chronicles of Skulduggery 2: A Precarious Position              Langhorne Lodge

Chronicles of Skulduggery 3: Sacricide [WIP]

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd like that. Especially lorebooks, like on the Strigis, a proposed Owl-Woman creature in the Wiki list of creatures that hasn't been added yet. If I had to guess, though? The description makes me think of Hagravens from Skyrim.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...